Clark College’s alumni winners are announced

 In Events, News, News Releases

Six notable Clark College individuals have been selected for top Clark College alumni awards.

2017 outstanding alumni

The 2017 Outstanding Alumni awardees are Nancy Boyce ’08, Mitchell Jackson ’93, Dr. Debi Jenkins ’93, Rujean “Jeanne” Mack ’67 and Steve Morasch ’87. The Rising Star awardee is Cody Messick ’10.

Boyce is a diesel mechanic and heavy machine repair business owner in Alaska. The Alaska Journal of Commerce nominated her as its Top Forty Under 40 Award winner in 2017, and she was one of three finalists for the Association of Equipment Management Professionals Foundation’s Technician of the Year Award in 2017.

Jackson is the author of the award-winning novel “The Residue Years” and creative nonfiction writing professor at New York University and adjunct instructor at Columbia University. His second novel “Survival Math” will be published in 2018. He’s also a popular national speaker for youth. He presented at Clark’s 2017 Columbia Writers Series.

Jenkins, Ph.D., has more than 20 years of experience as a developmental life coach, teacher and presenter. Her expertise is in the areas of lifespan development, issues of diversity, equity, inclusion and institutional climate/organizational change. Her business, Share the Flame Consulting LLC, provides a wide range of personal life and career coaching strategies. She is a national speaker and author on equity practices, 2016 Oxford Round Table honoree and 2009 YWCA Women of Achievement recipient. Jenkins is the chair of Clark College’s Behavioral Sciences division and has worked at the college for 25 years.

Mack is a retired principal and executive director of Vancouver Schools. She is one of the authors of “Help One Student to Succeed Math Program.” Mack is also the first executive director of the Vancouver Schools Foundation where she grew the endowment to $1 million, the former director of Children’s Therapy at Innovative Services NW and the former director of Youth House.

Morasch is a land-use, real estate and litigation attorney at Landerholm. He has received awards from the Wall Street Journal, American Jurisprudence and Vancouver Business Journal. He’s the chair of Clark County Planning Commission and has the highest peer-reviewed attorney rating—AV Preeminent. Morasch was part of the Clark College’s Alumni Board from 2004 to 2007, and the Alumni Scholarship Endowment Committee from 2005 to 2006.

Messick is a doctoral student in physics at Pennsylvania State University and was part of the team that detected the presence of gravitational waves at the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO) in Washington State and Louisiana in 2015. He is a current executive committee student member of the American Physical Society’s Division of Gravitational Physics. He was a math tutor at Clark, a Physics Days host at University of Washington and a gravitational wave summer camp organizer at Pennsylvania State University.

Outstanding Alumni Award recipients are chosen for their exemplary service to the community and Clark College, and for personal and professional achievements. The Rising Star Award recognizes alumni who are aged 35 or younger who deliver exemplary service to the community and Clark College, and exhibit personal and professional achievements.

The group will be recognized during a luncheon reception on November 1, 2017, and at Clark College Foundation’s annual donor gala, Savoring Excellence, on November 2, 2017. The alumni awards process is a collaboration with Clark’s alumni association, Clark College and Clark College Foundation.



Recommended Posts
  • jerry f pierce

    In the awards you left out tthe Quarterback for the last Clark College Football team.
    Following a loss to Univ. of Portland in the final game of the season but being one game
    up on Portland the Penguins took the championship . Year–1955 The Quarterback
    was Freshman class president and a member of the Student Council. Anyone know who
    it was.

Leave a Comment

In Memoriam for Clark College