Class Notes 1930-69

June 2019

Jim Martin ’68 was honored by the Community Foundation for Southwest Washington as a Friend of the Foundation at their annual gala on June 4 at the Hilton in Vancouver.

May 2019

Sam Elliott ’65 is narrating Honor Guard, a four-part documentary series about U.S. Army volunteers who take part in tough training in order to serve in the 3rd Infantry Regiment, an active-duty Army infantry unit that has been in existence since 1784. Elliott has a military background, having served briefly in the California Army National Guard.

April 2019

Edward Barnes ’59 awarded 2019 Clark County First Citizen honor by the Community Foundation for Southwest Washington.

March 2019

Clark’s Regional Wastewater District Commissioner, Neil Kimsey ’57, plans to seek re-election for his seat.  Kimsey reiterates that his highest priority in this role is to ensure that costs are kept down for residents.

Jim Martin ’68, will be honored by the Community Foundation for Southwest Washington as a “Friend of the Foundation” at their upcoming annual gala, Mosaic.

Class Notes - Clark College Foundation

January 2019

Sam Elliott ’65 was honored with a hand-and-foot imprint ceremony on January 7, 2019, at the TCL Chinese Theatre in Hollywood, Calif. The 74-year-old actor was joined by “A Star Is Born” costars Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga. Elliott plays Bobby Maine, brother of Cooper’s Jackson Maine, who performs as a tour manager. Additionally, he was nominated for an Oscar for his “A Star Is Born” appearance. Additionally, Elliott has two Screen Actor’s Guild Awards, one for supporting role and one for a performance motion picture cast, according to He currently stars in the Netflix series “The Ranch.”

October-November 2018

Dennis Kampe ’68 was named to the 2019 board of Southwest Washington Contractors Association Foundation. Kampe currently sits on the foundation board of Cascadia Technical Academy from which he retired as executive director after 30 years of service.

June 2018

Arnold “Arnie” Dyer ’66 retired Evergreen High School English teacher, was appointed to the advisory council of the Area Agency on Aging & Disabilities of Southwest Washington.

May 2018

Stanley Nelson ’62 retired regional architect with the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) Southwest Region, passed the technician, general and extra class tests and earned his HAM radio license (KF70JA). He is currently involved with club activities and parades providing security communications. Nelson is the husband of Norma (Finck) Nelson with whom he will celebrate 55 years of marriage in 2018 Additionally, he is father to son Raymond Nelson ’92, instructor at Cascadia Technical Academy and daughter Denise Benville of Acworth, Georgia. The Nelsons are also the proud grandparents of Julia and Ethan Benville, also of Acworth.

March 2018

Frederick “Jock” Coombe II ’67, PE, USAF retired, joined the Clark College Alumni Board. Before retirement, Coombe served as an engineer for Bonneville Power Administration and an information systems manager for Portland General Electric.

Dennis “Denny” Huston ’61 former Clark College Foundation board member and interim director of athletics for Clark College from 2008 to 2011, joined the Clark College Alumni Board. He is also the chair of the athletics committee for the Alumni Board and serves on the nominating committee for the Athletics Hall of Fame awards.

George Oberg ’57 was named a “Queer Hero” to the Northwest for 2015. Oberg was the first president of The Second Foundation, which founded Portland’s first gay community center and organized Portland’s first Pride celebration during his tenure. Clark College Foundation recently learned of Oberg’s accolade.

January 2018

Kenneth Boydstun  ’55 was inducted into the Clark College Athletics Hall of Fame on February 17, 2018, for his participation on the 1954 and 1955 baseball and men’s basketball teams. Boydstun was point guard for the 1955 championship basketball team when Skeet O’Connell was head coach. In baseball, he had a .457 hitting percentage, and as a result was one of the most feared players at the plate. Additionally, he was named Defensive Player of the Year and Athlete of the Year as a sophomore.

mike gaechter

Mike Gaechter ’60

Michael Gaechter ’60 a former professional football player for the Dallas Cowboys, will be inducted into the Clark College Athletics Hall of Fame on February 17, 2018, for his participation on the 1959 men’s track and cross country teams. He ran the 100 meter and 200 meter races and won the championship under head coach Skeet O’Connell. Gaechter still holds the 200 meter Clark record at 21.34 seconds, and is 6th in record books for the 100 meter.

November 2017

Al Bauer ’54 a 2001 recipient of the Clark County First Citizen Award, was honored with a 2017 Learn Here Real Hero Award for his exemplary volunteer service to Clark County. The awards are presented to business, education, and community leaders in Southwest Washington by Identity Clark County as part of their Land Here, Live Here, Learn Here project.

Denny Kiggins ’58 was reelected to serve as position 3 commissioner for the Clark Regional Wastewater District. He has served in this role for the past 18 years.

Betty and Glen Tribe

Betty and Glen Tribe

Glen ’52 and Betty ’54 Tribe were named the recipients of Clark College Foundation’s Presidential Award for Excellence in Philanthropy for 2017. The couple, who met while attending Clark, have contributed to the institution and its students for decades.

August 2017

Sam Elliott ’65

Sam Elliott ’65 plays a different kind of hero in the new drama “The Hero.” He plays an aging movie star who longs for one more great role.

Thomas Mears ’59 chairman of Holland, Inc. and former Burgerville CEO, published an autobiography, “Serve With Love.” Clark College Foundation hosted a book signing at Clark College in his honor on August 22, 2017.

Michael Rash ’66 and his wife woke up to rain and gusty wind after Hurricane Harvey hit in Houston, Texas, during the worst tropical cyclone in that state’s history in August and September. They are safe and were relieved to see Brays Bayou Greenway in front of their condominium had receded noticeably. “Still, we can’t go more than a couple blocks in any direction. I think the danger to us is now minimal, but many, many thousands are in desperate situations and all around the greater Houston area. To us, this has been an inconvenience, but to tens of thousands, it is a devastation. We are blessed to be safe, sound, high and dry.”

July 2017

John “Denny” Kiggins ’58 is running for reelection against two other candidates for commissioner, position 3 on the Clark Regional Wastewater District Commission. He has held the position for 18 years.

Rujean “Jeanne” Mack ’67

Rujean “Jeanne” Mack ’67 is one of five recipients of the 2017 Clark College Outstanding Alumni Award.

June 2017

Michael Rash ’66

Oswald may have been absent, but Michael Rash ’66 was at the College World Series in Omaha, Neb., in June showing his Penguin Pride alongside OSU’s Benny Beaver.

January 2017

George Welsh Jr. ’67 received a presidential coin from Clark College President Robert K. Knight at the 2017 State of the College address on January 20 for his dedicated service to the college.

George Welsh Jr. ’67 receives a presidential coin from Clark President Robert K. Knight in 2017.

November 2016

Paul Christensen ’53 received the Vancouver Business Journal’s Kyle Corwin Legacy Builder Award  for 2016.