Class Notes 1970-79

June 2019

George Golden ’71, a longtime Clark County resident, earned the President’s Volunteer Service Award for his work around the community. He founded LINKS, a nonprofit that works to serve local community service organizations.

May 2019

John Brookhouse ’72 was named Wasco County Pioneers’ 2019 Man of the Year.

Class Notes - Clark College Foundation

May 2018

Peggy Sheehan ’79 joined the board of Human Services Council and is serving as secretary/treasurer.

February 2018

David Titzler’s ’79 stained glass artwork hung in Frost Arts Center in February 2018. The piece was dedicated by Titzler’s sister with a plaque commemorating his life.

January 2018

Craig Dirksen ’74 has worked for 40 years in the engineering field since getting his associate degree in Mechanical Engineering Technology. While at Clark, served as vice president of ASCC, the student body association. “I am very proud of my time at Clark and the education I received there prepared me for a successful career and life.” He was elected to the Tigard City Council in 2000. In 2003, he was elected mayor of Tigard. After two successful terms, he ran for and was elected District 3 representative to the Metro Council, which is the elected regional government for the Portland metropolitan area. He was recently re-elected to a second term. There he also serves as the chair of JPACT, a regional transportation committee. In addition to being responsible for land use and transportation planning for the Portland metropolitan region, which consists of 24 cities and the urban areas of three counties, they are responsible for all solid waste disposal, own approximately 15,000 acres of parks and open space, and operate the regional visitor venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Expo Center, P’5 Centers for the Performing Arts, including the Keller Auditorium, Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall and the Oregon Zoo.

Lee Rafferty ’78 former executive director of Vancouver’s Downtown Association and recipient of the Chamber’s John S. McKibbin Leadership Legacy Award, will serve as the host for the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce Women in Leadership Leadership Lecture series that is launching in February 2018.

Brenda Tiefenthaler ’72 was appointed to the board of Evergreen Habitat for Humanity.

December 2017

Tracy Doriot ’75 owner of Doriot Construction, was named the 2018 immediate past president for the Building Industry Association of Clark County.


Jay Gilberg ’78 president of Clark College’s Alumni Board, was named as an ex officio member of Clark College Foundation’s Board of Directors for 2018.

November 2017

Mike Lyons ’79 was reelected as position 1 commissioner for Clark County Fire Protection District 5.

Kathy Nordberg ’71 was reelected to serve district 2 on the Hockinson School District Board of Directors.

October 2017

Leone “Lee” Rafferty ’78 founder and former co-owner of Spanky’s Consignment Shops, retired after seven years as executive director of the Vancouver Downtown Association.

September 2017

Lee Rafferty ’78 is the recipient of the John S. McKibbin Leadership Legacy Award by the Greater Vancouver Chamber of Commerce. Rafferty received the accolade at the chamber’s 2017 Business and Leadership Awards event on September 20.

August 2017

Darlene “De” Stickel ’72 is running for re-election for her current seat on the Educational Service District 112 board. She’s been a member since 1998. She currently represents district 6, covering the majority of Evergreen School District.

May 2017

David Sims ’78 is a winner of Clark College’s Classified Staff Excellence Award for 2016-2017.

April 2017

Local artist Guy Drennan’s ’78 mural commemorating 150 years of the Vancouver Fire Department will be completed this spring. The mural is being painted on the North wall of the Walgreen’s Pharmacy building, located at 2515 Main Street.

Kent Walsh’s ’76 latest work of fiction, “Legend of Beards Hollow,” was published in March 2017.